One of the questions asked was about the future of Rocket Raccoon in the franchise. The director commented that he will still have a big role in the MCU and that was something he had been planning since the beginning. “I’m just going to say that Rocket is a big part of what’s going on in the future – and many of those things (like the scars we’re about to see on his back) prepare what I’ve been planning for Rocket all along.” — James Gunn (@JamesGunn) April 8, 2020 Attached to the character In an interview in 2019, Gunn was asked what he would miss most if he had not returned to direct Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3. At the time, the filmmaker stated that he would be unable to complete the Rocket arc, as he had strong relationship with him. “When asked what was saddest for me when I thought I was out [Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3] is this very strange relationship linked to Rocket,” said Gunn. “Rocket is me, even if it sounds narcissistic. Groot is like my dog. I love Groot in a completely different way. I identify with Rocket and feel compassion for him. He has an arc that started in the first film, continued in the second and goes through Infinity War and Ultimatum, and so I was ready to actually finish that arc in Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3. That would be a big loss for me, even though I was comforted that they were still planning to use my script. ” Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 does not have a confirmed release date yet. The film was supposed to be part of phase 4 of the MCU, but when Gunn was removed from the project, the production was pushed aside by Marvel. Recently, an updated calendar with MCU date changes due to the new coronavirus was introduced and did not include the third feature in the franchise. Gunn is currently working on the post-production of Suicide Squad 2, which is scheduled to open on August 6, 2021.

James Gunn Says Rocket Will Have Big Role In Guardians Of The Galaxy 3 - 42